Leave a comment

At Least Two Reasons Why How You Dress for Mass Matters

How you dress matters. There are at least two reasons why. First, because of what it says to others. Dressing nicely communicates respect and honor. When you dress specially for Mass, you’re telling God, “You are worth the effort; you deserve my best.” It tells your fellow worshippers, “I take Mass seriously; it’s not just one casual event among many for me.”

Second, dressing respectfully changes your interior orientation.

+

But imagine if even a small percentage of Catholics decided to dress more respectfully each Sunday. Imagine how the atmosphere would instantly change. Imagine what our children would think, how they would see the Mass. Imagine how it would affect the prayer lives of people seeking deeper experiences. The spiritual fruit would be remarkable.

—from the blog post [Video] How My Family Dresses for Mass by Brandon Vogt

—The video below about dressing for Mass features Brandon Vogt and his family

RELATED: An excerpt from Jennifer Fulwiler’s blog post How Changing What I Wear Changed My Approach to Mass

It started a few months ago, when I was frantically digging through my closet, per my pre-Mass morning routine. I frowned at most of the choices, wondered once again how my closet could be so packed yet have so few things I actually want to wear in it, and then I paused when my hand rested on a nice blue sweater. It’s one of my favorite tops, and works perfectly with a black skirt. It’s classically stylish, modest, flattering, and I feel great every time I wear it. After examining it I pushed it aside with the thought:

I should save that one for a special occasion.

I ended up throwing on another outfit, some ill-fitting slacks and a blouse that mildly resembled a crumpled potato sack. I thought about that decision all the way to Mass. As much as I tried to tell myself that the clothes don’t make the woman, I could not deny that my careless attire was dragging down my mood. And, more importantly, what message had I sent to myself by saying that I didn’t want to wear a “special occasion” outfit to the holy sacrifice of the Mass?!

+

Once I thought about it, I was surprised that it had taken this so long to click. After all, we’re the people of the Incarnation; Catholics understand better than anyone that we’re not disembodied spirits, that the body and the soul are inextricably connected. It’s almost heretical to imply that the way you clothe yourself has absolutely no impact on your inner life.

 

Leave a Reply

