Leave a comment

Louis C.K., Kids, and Freedom

“I realized that a lot of the things that my kid was taking away from me, she was freeing me of.”

I read the above quote by comedian Louis C.K. in an online article, and then looked it up to verify it and see the context of what he was talking about. Here’s the quote in the relevant 2 paragraphs:

On how being a parent shifted his focus

The road really sucks when it’s all you have; it’s really sad. It’s very lonely out there. So I was happy to be in a family and be married and everything. … When I first got married and had kids, I had some friends I played poker with on Mondays and I thought: The poker game on Mondays, that’s the water line. If I don’t make that game, I’m losing something. I’m losing something if I don’t make it to that game. It means I’m letting go of my youth, I’m letting go of my manhood, all these things — my independence.

But then after a while I realized: Why would I want to go play poker with a bunch of guys in a smoky room when I could be at home with my family? I realized that a lot of the things that my kid was taking away from me, she was freeing me of. There was this huge pride in having a kid and also that I didn’t matter anymore. The greatest thing about having a child is putting yourself second in your own life. It’s a massive gift to be able to say you’re not the most important person to yourself.

And here’s the link to the full article I found the quote in.

Leave a Reply

