Leave a comment

On Wearing a Scapular

I confessed that I’d begun wearing the scapular, as a discipline; for penance and correction. “It’s my hair shirt,” I explained.

+

Calling it “the world’s tiniest hair shirt” is no exaggeration. The one currently between my shoulder blades is new, and itchy. It is uncomfortable, but I have come to love it, because when an itch breaks through to my awareness, or the thing rides up and needs adjusting, it reminds me (and always just when I need reminding) that I am weak and need help.

—From the OSV article Living with the World’s Tiniest Hair Shirt by Elizabeth Scalia

scapular

Brown Scapular Info

Leave a Reply

