1 Comment

A Reasonable Desire

I have always wanted to be a saint. Alas! I have always noticed that when I compare myself to the saints, there is between them and me the same difference that exists between a mountain whose summit is lost in the clouds and the obscure grain of sand trampled underfoot by passers-by. Instead of becoming discouraged, I said to myself: God cannot inspire unrealizable desires. I can, then, in spite of my littleness, aspire to holiness.

+

I am very far from practicing what I understand, and still the desire alone I have of doing it gives me peace.

—from Story of a Soul, the autobiography of Saint Therese of Lisieux – Ch. 10: The Trial of Faith

Story of a Soul

One comment on “A Reasonable Desire

Leave a Reply

