Leave a comment

Open My Eyes

Good Morning, my beloved disciple, I am with you today.

You must come to see.

Today’s Encounter…Jesus Speaking (Mt. 9:27-31) C Fri. of First Wk. Of Advent.

Your life is blossoming right before your eyes and you do not see it.

Life blossoms in three ways, one becomes transformed in relationship with me, one comes to understand wise choices, and one comes to see the opportunities I place before them.

Isaiah spoke of this to the Israelites, “A very little while, and Lebanon shall be changed into an orchard, and the orchard be regarded as a forest. On that day the deaf shall hear the words of the book; and out of gloom and darkness, the eyes of the blind shall see” (Is. 29:17-24).

Even though you do not see it now, my plans for you are unfolding, but in the darkness of where you are coming from, you can only see the light and not what the light shines on for you.

“The lowly (down trodden) will ever find joy in the Lord and the poor (in spirit) rejoice in the Holy One of Israel.”

Sing today as the psalmist, “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is my life’s refuge; of whom should I be afraid?” (Ps. 27:1, 4, 13-14).

As I passed by, two blind men followed me, crying out (as you have), “Son of David, have pity on us!” When I entered the house, they approached me and I said to them, “Do you believe that I can do this?” They answered, “Yes, Lord!”

Then I touched their eyes and said, “Let it be done according to your faith!”

You will have sight given to you according to your faith, not according to your wants.

Morning: Lord, open my eyes today so that I may see you in the encounters.

Evening: O Lord, when today were my eyes open to you?

—from a daily email reflection on the Scripture readings for Mass by Deacon Thom Winninger

Email twinninger@stolaf.org to receive these daily reflections.

Leave a Reply

